Brave

I am not brave.

Actually, I am what we in the South call “a chicken”. I love knowing what is ahead so that I can plan accordingly, and I rarely deviate from that plan. I get anxious when things happen outside of my control, and I spend way too many sleepless nights worrying about the “what if’s” that rarely happen.

Ironically this play-it-safe girl married one of the biggest risk-takers known to man. My husband believes that rules are just suggestions and the best way to overcome an obstacle is to plow right through it. He lives passionately and loves big. The very traits that I found exhilarating in a boyfriend now cause panic as a husband…he lives on the edge, and many times it’s all I can do to just hang on.

However, this time it’s me that is taking a risk. Through a partnership with the Catholic Relief Organization’s Farmer-to-Farmer program and American Agri-Women, I have been selected travel to Uganda and teach basic agribusiness principles to remote Africans. I will spend 22 days with these people, sharing my story and learning more about theirs.
Uganda
While I am very excited about this opportunity, I am also very nervous. The thought of traveling alone to a foreign country, leaving my business and my family is very overwhelming…not to mention the bugs and the critters that I am guaranteed to encounter on my travels. It’s enough to make me want to reconsider and stay safely planted in NC.

But, for once in my life, I am ready to take the risk. Instead of cheering on my husband from the sideline, I am prepared to lead the race this time. I feel very inapt and overwhelmed, but I also feel excited and alive.

For the first time in my life, I know how it feels to be brave.

One thought on “Brave

  1. What an excellent opportunity! Despite the possible risks, the rewards will undoubtably be worth it. I hope you will have a chance to keep us posted while there, but if not we will look forward to the posts when you return.

Leave a Reply

